Some parents believe that reading books for entertainment is a waste of children’s time. They think that their children should read only serious educational books. What is your opinion?

With the growing competition, the children's ability to read is dramatically reduced. Although, some parents want their children to read course related books so that they can get good grades, others argue that children should be allowed to read according to their interests. I believe that both educational and entertainment books are important in children’s knowledge regarding different aspects of life. Many studies prove that the children reading books as per their interests, have a larger range of vocabulary and wider knowledge. Furthermore, reading books from various genres helps children identify their field of interest. In fact, painting and colouring books may develop a child's interest in the arts and other creative fields. By reading novels, short stories and friction, children can develop their creativity and imagination skills. In addition to that, children might learn many life skills by engaging themselves in reading entertainment books. For instance, social behaviour might not be taught in the curriculum, however a child might learn how to behave at a certain social event, by reading books. Nevertheless, with the rise in competition, parents want only the best for their children. So they encourage their children to read course related books because it’s beneficial for their career. From a parent's point of view, books related to courses can help children to score higher marks and secure their future. In conclusion, reading helps improves child's memory, increases concentration levels and helps develop their overall personality. In my opinion, parents should not limit their children to read course books, but encourage them to read and get engaged in entertainment books as well, thus keeping a balance.