Should young people follow older people’s example or it’s good for them to challenge older people’s opinions and thoughts. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views on how young citizens should plan their future. Although, some assert that they should follow the older generation’s path, others argue stating that, the youngsters should be encouraged to think independently. In this essay, I will examine both the perspectives and state my opinion. A majority of people believe that the knowledge and prudence of the elder people are more trustworthy. The wisdom, experience and judgement of the older generation could be advantageous to the youth of today. Moreover, older people have insights into a problem which would have not been considered otherwise. For example, the homemade remedies for skin or cold that we are using today, were created by our ancestors a long time ago. In some ways, following the old generation’s path proves to be very advantageous. Nevertheless, though they respect their elders, most young people think that their opinions are outdated and their wisdom is not relevant to the modern era of science and technology. Furthermore, many elders are against the idea of homosexuality and equal rights, which are not applicable in the modern world. For instance, my grandfather still thinks that women belong in the kitchen and not in corporate offices. Considering this, we may have to argue that challenging the old ways of life and beliefs, is somewhat essential. In conclusion, youngsters should consult their elders when taking various decisions in life, as they may have a different approach which makes everyone’s life easier. However, I believe that, there are certain choices that the younger generation should make without relying on their elders.