In some countries people prefer to live alone more often than in the past. Do you think is a positive or a negative development? Why?

In the recent years, most people, particularly in developed countries, likely to opt for living independently. Although living solo come along with several drawbacks, I would consider this more of a positive development. For several reasons, living alone may have some drawbacks. Firstly, living independently can be extremely costly as life is becoming increasingly complex and property price is just skyrocketing. This has created a difficult situation in finding an accommodation at a reasonable price. For this reason, single occupants may have to work unbelievably hard to make their ends meet. Being a singleton has meant that they cannot expect any financial or moral support from family or relatives in most cases. Lone occupants are more likely to experience depression, anxiety and uncertainty with bearing all household responsibilities on top of pursuing a work life than family-oriented people. As a result, single people tend to lead a hectic as well as burdensome life with having a feeling of being resented and anguished and therefore resulting an unhealthy lifestyle. On the other hand, I believe that people, leading a life as single dwellers are the lucky one. A sense of freedom with an acute privacy is something considered as the most desirable element of a happy life. This is the main reason why single occupant tends to be seen as a successful peer of the society. Because living a life on their own allows them to invest a precious time in the developmental growth and shaping out their personality. Furthermore, single people are likely to attend more public social affairs, thus allowing cities and urban areas to reinvigorate as they spend more money on holiday-making, doing outdoor activities or surfing other services compared to their couple counterparts. Finally, if more people became independent, the more they live greener by living in apartments or near to towns instead of living in suburb houses and commuting to work from far away stretched distances. To sum up, going solo may have some disadvantages, but I would argue that this development should be seen as a progression.