Many teenagers now have their own smart phone. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this and give your own opinion.

An increasing number of teens now possess a mobile phone. The main advantage of this is that it allows teenagers to stay in touch with their families and the main drawback is they waste too much time using apps. This essay will argue that overall this is a negative development. Smart mobile devices enable parents to keep track of their children and this keeps them safe. That is to say that young people can send their parents an email or call to let them know where they are. Even if the child is devious and tells their parents a lie, there are apps that can tell the adults exactly where they are. For example, the app KidCheck uses GPS to tell guardians. Where their loved ones are at all times, thus enabling them to find their young one quickly in an emergency. However, having an iPhone or Android phone can also lead to screen addiction. The main issue is that teenagers spend too much time staring at a screen instead of actually interacting with other people or studying. This is a problem because most apps do not teach teenagers anything useful, but instead encourage them to passively consume useless information. For instance, social networking apps like SnapChat or Facebook, have mostly gossip about them and are a complete waste of time compared to reading a book or having a real conversation. This essay, therefore, believes that smart phones are dangerous and teenagers should be discouraged from using them. In conclusion, although mobiles allow parents to keep tabs on teenagers, this does not overcome the fact that teens are wasting too many hours looking at a display when they should be living their life.