Nowadays more and more people consume fast food on a regular basis. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Fast food is gaining popularity these days and there is a rising trend in people to have it regularly. Consuming more such meal has the advantages that it's readily available and cheap, whereas disadvantages are that it's unhealthy and fatty. On the one hand, low prices and easy availability are making the fast food popular. Firstly, the raw material used as ingredients of the burgers, pizzas and hot dogs costs low, which ultimately reduces the overall price of an item. Secondly, the time required to cook these items is very short, so they are quickly prepared and served. Furthermore, the outlets also keep the items half cooked to further reduce the serving time and attract more customers. So, in this era where most of the people are short of time, these eatables have solved their issues. For instance, a recent study has revealed that 75% of the Americans have sandwiches in their meals. On the other hand, junk food items are rich in fats and carbohydrates, making them harmful, if taken more frequently. Increased sugar and cholesterol contents in food items have long lasting adverse effects like obesity, hypertension and diabetes. Moreover, the incidence of heart attack is more in individuals whose diet includes fries, pastas and other such things. So, there is an increase in heart and lung diseases in the population where fast food is more famous. For example, there is a tenfold rise in obesity in the UK and USA in the last 10 years. To conclude, it's advisable to have a balanced diet rather than using junk food items as it will make you healthy as well as fit enough to cope up with the stresses of daily routine.