Some people think that in order to prevent illness and disease, governments should make efforts in reducing environmental pollutions and housing problems. To what extent do you agree to disagree with this statement?

Some people believe that the authority can prevent illness by decreasing environmental and housing issues. Form this author’s perspective. It may be meaningless when governments focus on reducing pollution instead of improving the quality of medicine. Firstly, there is an undeniable point that the majority of diseases often have their origins in pollution, such as asthma or lung cancer. Because of the massive amount of dust or impurity, people can be at risk of being affected by the high frequency of interaction in their work. Moreover, with the unhygienic and narrow condition of some residents ‘houses, it can allow some bacteria and viruses to develop in a convenient condition, causing dangerous diseases. So, if the government focuses on reducing environmental and housing problems, it can be effective in preventing illness. However, there is an obvious point: focusing on external effects cannot help people treat illness completely; it just makes the development slower because of the decrease in harmful effects. Thus, concentrating on reducing natural effects may not prevent and decrease illness as effectively as people’s expectations. In terms of medicine, if the authorities focus on enhancing the quality of treatment, they minimize the risk of illness. Obviously, with the advancement of medication, patients can be treated totally, notwithstanding how dangerous the disease is. Additionally, with the development of medical technology, governments can help people prevent illness and disease effectively, such as by using distinctive vaccines or purifying the house with human-friendly chemicals that eliminate microorganisms. Hence, focusing on the medicine can be a more effective way than concentrating on environmental problems. In conclusion, focusing on environmental factors can help governments limit the cases of illness, but it may be meaningless in treatment. So, concentrating on medicine with some effective ways to prevent illness, such as modern equipment or vaccines, can be a more suitable choice.