Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the best place to learn this.

Some people argue that children should be taught by their parents on how to become valuable members of society. Others suggest that schools are the most appropriate place for learning this. While parents can educate their children with their own experiences, I believe schools provide a more practical way of learning this. Mothers and fathers use their own experiences to teach their sons and daughters how to grow up moral and ethical. Parents can teach their children how to be empathetic, respectful towards other people, and a responsible person because they know how their children react to certain situations. By observing these, parents can guide their sons and daughters better. For example, when children are allowed to take care of a family pet, they learn that their actions directly impact the life of another living being. However, I believe that children may grow up having a myopic view because of their parents ’ teachings. Universities and education centres provide an environment where students can learn how to behave in a more structured way. Often, primary schools curriculum have projects that require group participation, such a setting equips children from an early age to understand other’s point of view and act accordingly, nurturing an important character trait, teamwork. For instance, the St. Xavier’s School in Kolkata, India has a mandatory community service program where children visit the city’s orphanages to donate their old study books. Therefore, I am of the opinion that schools provide children with an atmosphere to learn essential skills to become valuable members of society. In conclusion, parents know their children better and can instil a sense of responsibility but they can create a bias in their child’s mind. Schools and universities, on the other hand, have special practical programs that are designed to help young students become ethical and moral when they grow up.