Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend

The need to care for the elderly is gradually increasing. As a result of this, their family members have found an alternative by keeping them in care homes. I consider this beneficial owing to the convenience it offers to the folks and the professionalism in handling them it brings. However, there are some drawbacks which need to be taken into account. Firstly, a major benefit of care home is the convenience it offers. This is because, taking care of the elderly is quite time demanding in terms of attention and care. With nursing homes, one does not need to worry about the day to day routine and medications to be administered, which is greatly preferred by career people. Another point to consider is the professional touch the care home presents. These homes have staffs that have been trained for this purpose and therefore know the best way to take care of them. On the other hand, a crucial issue with care homes is the level of care they give to their subjects. Even though they have the expertise and are in the best position to provide this care, some do so nonchalantly because they are not directly supervised by the families of the elderly. More so, the elderly are often times exposed to drugs that have not been prescribed by a medical practitioner. Some care homes give depressants to them in order to lessen their workload, which can consequently affect their well being. An example of this is when the sleeping medicine is given to them to make them sleep longer. In conclusion, while care homes or nursing homes are beneficial in so many ways, people should also be cautious of the health dangers it comes with.