Some say that music, art and drama are as important as other school subjects, especially at the primary level. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that theatre, art and music should be considered as the prime subjects like maths and science at the elementary level. This essay disagrees with that statement because there are more career opportunities in the field of the main subjects like math, and it is more important to clear the basic concept of these subjects at primary level. If people pursue their studies in art and music, fewer employment options are available to them. This is because music and art have a limited career scope as it depends on the person’s talent and not everyone is gifted with a good voice or better acting skills. For example, a recent survey in India exhibits that more than 50% of the artists who wanted to pursue their job in acting or music are jobless and cannot feed their families due to unemployment. Another reason why math and science should be given more importance than art is the fact that the foundation of these subjects is built at the elementary level. In other words, if the concept of students about the basic principle is not clear, they cannot solve difficult problems in high school. For instance, Algebra is a branch of mathematics which students study at primary level and failing to understand it, will lead to the problems in solving applications of Algebra in high school. In conclusion, music and art should not be given equal importance as other subjects, especially at the elementary level because there are more chances of finding jobs if people pursue their career in core subjects, and it is important to know the fundamental idea of the main subjects at junior school.