Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, there has been a growing trend that people tend to buy things on the Internet. Its present both pros and cos, After all, in my opinion, its benefits are much more significant than the drawbacks.E-commerce has dramatically changed the way people do business and buy products and services. With billions of Internet users, online shopping is no longer a theory, rather it has changed people’s lifestyle and buying habits to a greater extent. With the exception of few disadvantages, online shopping has tremendous benefits and it will dominate the global trade even more in the coming days to make people’s life easier. To start with, online shopping enables consumers to get a service or a product from home. They no longer need to travel a long distance or wait in a long queue to pay their bills or withdraw cash. With the widespread usage of the handheld smart devices and the Internet, shopping is just a few finger taps away. This saves valuable time and enables people to use plastic money, which is more secure than conventional transactions. In addition, online banking, ticket booking system, e-payment and online-subscriptions facilitate mass people to avoid traffic congestion and help maintain a green environment. From a field owner’s perspective, online shopping permits them to run the business 24x7 and without the need for any extra staff, utility bills and so on. It permits them to offer products at a more competitive price. As well, consumers enjoy a greater freedom to purchase global products from renowned websites like eBay and Amazon and compare the quality and price of a product before making a purchasing decision. Perhaps the most noticeable benefit of this trend is the unparalleled opportunity it has brought for ordinary people to open their own online shops and run small businesses online. It would never have happened without the boom of online business trends. On the other hand, shopping online brings consumers some disadvantages. Initially, since people are unable to touch or to see the products they want to buy in reality, it is always hard for them to examine the quality of these products. As a result, they might purchase the items with poor quality. In addition to that, as consumers do not feel happy with the items they had bought online, they tend to abandon these products or don't use them at all. This is definitely a waste of money. Moreover, the buyings thing on the Internet often makes people confused since there is a great number of shops on the Internet. To be specific, buyers might see the same products in several shops, but the prices for these items can be very different, ranging from reasonable to prohibitively expensive price. Consequently, they will not know which products they should purchase.Among the drawbacks of online shopping, identity theft and digital scams are more common. Careless use of a credit card or sensitive personal information can often invite intruders and hackers to harm someone. Finally, online shopping does not allow someone to physically inspect a product before buying it and this often leads to customer dissatisfaction. However, these demerits can easily be avoided by being cautious and relying on reputed brands. In conclusion, although buying things on the Internet exerts some adverse aspects, the advantages can justify these.The overwhelming benefits online shopping offers far outweigh the few demerits it has. I personally am an online shopper and I believe that this has immensely improved our freedom of shopping and lifestyle.