Many students are now refusing to choose science subjects at their university level. Why do you think this is happening and what is the impact on the community?

In several regions, it seems to be a challenge for over 50-year-old individuals to seek appropriate work positions in spite of their noticeable experience. There is a wide range of reasons for this kind of phenomenon as well as a number of solutions to improve the situation. This essay will analyze and discuss such practices along with my own perspectives. First and foremost, people who are older than 50 years old typically approach retirement, which also means that they are hardly able to sign long-term contracts. For example, the age of superannuation in Vietnam is 55 and 60 regarding to women and men respectively. Therefore, they will have only a few years left until the moment they resign so it will be a waste of time as well as resources in training for them. If they are more than that age, they will be unable to dedicate fully to the companies owing to the lack of flexibility of variable working environments. In addition, the older they become, the more responsibility they have to take on in terms of family. Hence, this kind of applicants seem to be incapable of committing thoroughly themselves to the job. Second of all, increasing in age level also leads to a plethora of health issues. While the younger generation is supposed to be more active and self-motivated to engage in divergent assignments, the former ones depend a lot upon health situation. Seldom are they involved in the night shifts or work overtime. Moreover, they find it extremely challenging to learn innovative technology to keep up with the youth. As a result, participating in a team with other members will then shape them in the prejudice of underwhelmed productivity. This can lead to potential conflict among fellow colleagues in case they are unable to maintain professional integrity under stressful conditions. Nevertheless, there are plenty of solutions which can be taken into consideration to address this issue. It has to be based on not only the intervention of the government but also the self-effort of the people who are more than 50 years old. For instance, the authority can modify the current law of salary and bonus regime for experienced people, especially for experts. Furthermore, senior employees who consider themselves to be potentially laid-off ought to stay updated with the novel application of science and technology by taking part in workshops to further improve their value which helps maintain their current positions. Besides, they should both put more effort into enhancing physical health and balance their personal life versus their career so as to meet the demand of multitasks. I strongly have a thought that with obvious determination, great attempts along perseverance will finally end up with the desired success. In conclusion, it is reasonable to comprehend the problem of old people seeking good jobs, yet there are a number of solutions to solve it as well. It requires a lot of endeavour from both candidates and the interference of the government so that we can enhance the situation.