Some people believe that the Olympics Games do not have a role in the 21st Century. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your experience.

It is often claimed that people do not anymore perceive the Olympic Games as important to the society. Nevertheless, I believe that many individuals these days still value the role of these competitions in giving pride and honour to a country and in releasing patriotic emotions in a positive way. It is evident that many individuals today still demonstrate the same degree of patriotism as they did in the past whenever the Olympic Games are held. Apparently, it might seem as though many have forgotten the value of these competitions because technology has made significant inroads in many aspects of people’s lives these days, taking their attention away from the world of sports and diverting it to other priorities. However, these same advances in technology have also enabled a larger audience to cheer for their teams and watch international sporting events more closely through live streaming channels, real-time posts on social media, and websites and online forums that track the standing of countries in various competitions. With this premise, therefore, it can be argued that the Olympic Games still play a vital role in inspiring in people a sense of pride and nationalism amid the waves of modernization that have swept many societies in this generation. In addition, people still recognize the importance of the Olympics in fostering unity and harmony among countries. Many people still think that these games are an excellent opportunity to put aside their differences and gather together in one international event. In fact, warring nations still make it a point to send their representatives to these competitions and support their delegates by means of funding their athletes’ training and sports equipment. Host countries, even allocate a significant amount of money for the construction of such facilities as stadiums, open fields, gymnasiums, and covered courts to hold these games. This only goes to show that governments still see the role the Olympics play in uniting countries and helping individuals set aside their differences amid the mounting tensions contemporary societies these days are experiencing. To conclude, although there is a notion that certain individuals do not anymore recognize the importance of the Olympic Games in the 21st century, I completely disagree with this view. From my perspective, governments and individuals across the globe are starting to value these sporting events even more along with the developments the world has seen in this modern age.