Some people think money is the best gift to give to teenagers, others disagree to this. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In recent times, the choice of what is best to give as gifts to teenagers has been a front burning issue in parenting. While some are of the believe that money is the best gift for teenagers, others disagree. On one hand, it is believed that presenting teenagers with monetary gifts more often than not, familiarises them with the usage of money at an early stage. This helps them to be financially responsible and also develops their saving habits. In addition, teenagers might seem too old for toys and electronics and other teen favourites might seem quite expensive. For this reason cash gifts might just come in handy for them. On the other hand, exposing teenagers to unearned money might result in them developing an unbridled appetite for impulsive spendings. This may lead to an insatiable quest for cash and if left unchecked, could result in them exploring unapproved ways to source for it. Moreover, an early exposure of teenagers to these gifts could make them vulnerable to social vices in which they become accustomed to being the centre of attraction among their peers and a sort of de-facto leader probably as a result of the amount of cash they have always got to throw around, a situation they may not be able to handle due to the frailty of their young minds. In conclusion, while a cash reward system for teenagers can be encouraged, this must not be left unchecked. Some measures must be put in place to ensure that the teenager is guided on how to make financial decisions on how best to put his resources to use. He can be instructed on what to do with the money, what to spend and save. This will develop his sense of responsibility towards handling monetary benefits.