Creative artists should be given the freedom to express their ideas ( through words, pictures, music or films). However, some people think government should impose certain restrictions on them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people claim that in real democracy artists should be able to express their ideas freely while others stand for a restriction of this right. I firmly believe that this kind of freedom must not be curtailed when it comes to the creative process. To start with, the freedom of speech is a basic right of every citizen, more so for artists. The ideas of an artist are often expressed not in his speeches, but through his artistic work. For instance, a picture tells us more about the painter and his intimate thoughts and feelings than his words do. Moreover, art is impossible under restrictions. An artist shows the world from his unique point of view, and the importance of being truthful in sharing this view cannot be overestimated. If artists can only approach an issue in ways approved by the authority and if they are in fear of being thrown into prison by expressing their ideas honestly, art ceases to be art. Finally, artists should influence political decisions, not vice versa. The human development is indeed concerned with challenging old norms and proposing new ideas. If we impose restrictions on music, literature and film industry, our society will stop evolving so rapidly or even stagnate. In conclusion, governments should not impose censorship or restrictions on artistic creation. Artists should have their freedom of expression as long as this freedom is not used as an excuse for illegal activities.