The govt should make people take the responsibility for their actions to the environment. TO what extent do you agree?

It has been argued by many that protection of the environment is an important task of the government and people should be taken to task for their actions affecting the environmental conditions. In my opinion, I fully agree with this as it will inculcate a sense of responsibility among the inhabitants and will also keep the surroundings neat and clean. On the one hand, it's the duty of a state to keep a check on the activities, of its citizens, affecting the locality. Firstly, awareness should be created by media campaigns. Secondly, rules should be made and communicated to all regarding the protection of surroundings. Furthermore, adequate facilities must be provided for the uplift and upkeep of the area. This will, ultimately, develop responsible attitudes among the people and they will try to preserve the nature as their utmost duty. For instance, the Swiss people are among those who have kept the natural beauty in its original shape and they are backed up by their rulers as well. On the other hand, people should be encouraged to keep their vicinities protected and dirt free. Apart from cleaning their homes, they are also expected to keep their nearby town updated. This can be achieved by providing garbage bins, a sanitation truck for collection of all filthy material and recycling of the whole material. Moreover, community centres must be tasked to keep an eye on the sanitary conditions of the cities and helping in maintaining the world pollution free. For example, the same practice has been followed in the UAE where the government has fixed monitoring devices to keep the towns beautiful. To conclude, I believe that natural resources are available to all of us in one form or the other, but it's our duty to keep them safe and protected.