Airlines are dropping their prices. Is it a positive or a negative development? Support your stand with examples.

It is said that the air fares are falling. I believe this is a positive advance because it allows people to travel overseas for business or for leisure purposes and it is good for small economies. Firstly, low- cost air travels allows people to fly more often. For example, I visited my sister in Ireland 4 times in the past three years, which would be unthinkable in the past because the flight prices were high for my financial possibilities. With low air fares it would be easier for people to travel to exotic places abroad. For instance, people are travelling more often to places like Dubai or Bali. It also benefits business people or foreign who need to travel frequently. Secondly, it would help increase local economies. When we travel to some places, we purchase goods at the local shops which helps local businesses to grow, plus we need to pay for the hotel and with more tourism affluence there is a higher possibility of hotel taxes to drop. So, if the number of tourists increases, then the local stores benefits greatly. It also would decrease the cost of goods imported. For example, Indian products are much more expensive in Portugal than they are in India because the transportation cost is also added to the price. Therefore, with low cost air travelling the price of importation would drop, which would enable the product prices to fall. To conclude, low cost air travel helps increase local economies, it facilitates travel for business people, and it entices people to travel to paradise destinations. Thus, lower flying prices are without a doubt a positive development.