Scientists say that in the future, humanity will speak the same language. Do you think this is a positive or negative social development? Discuss.

There is a general myth that to succeed in the intercontinental society, the common language is necessary. Many people believe that to promote globalization all the countries should have a global language. However, few people advocate that it may have a negative impact on the local dialects. This essay will discuss both the views in detail before giving my final verdict on this topic. Firstly, with the introduction of a global language, the local dialects which are on the verge of being obsolete, may soon become extinct. In such a scenario, all the literature and historical artefacts, written in that language will lose their importance. However, in most of the countries, the government is introducing new schemes to promote the local dialects. For example, in India, the government in South Indian states has included their native language in their school curriculum. Hence, even though English is the mode of communication in schools, importance is given to state specific languages. On the other hand, common language among nations may help in promoting international trade and in sharing human resources. In addition to it, it will enable all the intellectual people to document their knowledge in a single language unlike today, where the translation of the knowledge base in nation specific language is required. For instance, poetries written by the famous Tamil poet Thiruvalluvar, has been translated into English, for people of other nations. All these efforts can be eradicated if a common language is used across nations. To conclude, I opine that having a common language may help in the expansion of international trade and in building a rational workforce. Therefore, it is clear that it has a more positive influence on the society.