Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There is an on-going debate that children should be introduced to studying a foreign language at an early age rather than when they get to secondary school. In my opinion, I believe that the merits of learning different languages at an early era, such as exposure to other cultures and outstanding academic performance outweighs the demerits that may come with it. Admittedly, it has been argued by some people that the introduction of foreign languages at a tender age may be burdensome for children and they may also confuse foreign tongue with their native tongue. Hence, it is better to allow them to grow older before introducing them to different dialect. Additionally, some people believed that it takes longer time and it is more costly to learn new languages as teenagers in secondary than when in primary schools. Nevertheless, I am of the opinion that it is easier for children to learn new languages earlier than when they are much older. In addition, the introduction of foreign languages has been attributed to outstanding academic performance in children. It should be noted that recent research carried out by the World Health Organisation have shown that children with cognitive capacity is higher in younger age hence their ability to quickly master new languages. For instance, when my sister travelled to France some years back, it was easier for their two children to quickly adapt and communicate in French than the parents. Conclusively, despite the numerous merits of learning foreign languages in primary school, I am of the opinion that the demerits in terms of being burdensome and time consumption is less when compared with the merit