Nowadays, many people spend less and less time at home. What are the causes of this? What are the effects of this on individuals and on the society?

In recent times, people continue to spend less and less time at home. Some responsible factors are industrialization and increasing workload. They also have their accompanying effects on individuals and the society as a whole. One of the reasons is increasing work load, especially among the working class in corporate organizations. Due to the need to deliver, people are in constant struggle to meet up with deadlines and deliver quality results. This has made many people spend a lot of times outside their homes working. Some organizations offer to pay workers who are willing to give extended hours. Another reason is industrialization. With industrialization comes with many opportunities. This makes people migrate to industrialized areas. This has caused congestion in most industrialized cities. In cities like Lagos for instance, where the major system of transportation is by road, commuters spend a lot of time in transit, and this makes them leave their homes early and come back late. Some would rather sleep outside their homes to avoid traffic delays. People who do not spend enough time at home are disconnected from their families, therefore, a lot of people miss out on the important periods of their kid's development. An example is a family where both parents are in full time employment. Another way to look at it is the creation of employment for people in the society. Because people spend less time at home, they employ care givers to take care of their kids. Thereby helping employment in the society. Also, this can affect the productivity of some individuals. People rest more comfortably in their homes, as a result, get well recharged. And some researchers have linked resting to productivity. People who relax more after work tend to be more productive. In conclusion, although spending less hours at home has its bad effects, there are some good sides to it. People will generally appreciate staying more in their homes than they do now.