Some people say it is an age where it is unnecessary to teach children the skill of handwriting. Others say believe that handwriting I still important. To what extent would you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, we live in a world where there are full of data and digital figures. So it’s easy to provoke a fierce discussion about whether to teach children the skill of handwriting. Now, we will look at different opinions together. Some people claim that it is unnecessary to learn handwriting in today’s circumstances, because we rarely write something on paper. Instead, digital devices have replaced traditional ways in which people obtain information. Moreover, artificial intelligence, even makes people just use their voice and facial recognition to reach the same goal as writing. But other people are still advocating that the skill of handwriting is not only beneficial to children’s academic performance, but also helpful to their development of personalities. For instance, learning calligraphy will help a teenager to be a patient person, while easing their pressures which come from the modern society. There is no doubt that the above opinions both have valid concerns about how necessary it is to educate our children to write by hand. But we should not abandon this skill totally. As those who cite, it can facilitate fostering a good personality. Besides, like calligraphy, these skills are treasures of our human skills which we need to pass down to the next generations. Therefore, what we should do is to make a balance between technology applications and natural skills.