Many people believe that social networking sites (such as facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Social networking sites, for example Facebook, are being considered to have a detrimental effect on individual people and also the local community. In my opinion, they benefit more individually, however, I agree they have a negative impact on the community. Facebook has done exceptionally great job by bringing communities together. This has been a platform for the people to work together. Because of the social media, information has been made available easily. For instance, there can be virtual communities on the social media, the interested youth can join such communities to learn. As there are multiple people exploring and learning the same thing they can share their ideas on the platform that others can also learn from. This can be very helpful for the development of an individual. Secondly, there can be virtual communities for anything and everything, these platforms can be used to share false information among the members as a result, it might create a chaos in the physical world which can potentially grow to a larger area. One such incident happened a year ago in Mumbai, a false information of higher secondary exams being cancelled was spread by a Facebook page, the fake information created chaos among the candidates. This then took great efforts to manage the situations by the authorities. These are the events that turn out to be harmful to the society due to social media. In conclusion, Facebook and other such platforms are a great place to learn and share information. As the whole world is connected to the platform, a lot of sharing of ideas happens, the members learn a lot due to it. However, there can be tricky situations, like spreading of false news which really have a damaging effect on the society.