Governments give a lot of support to artists, even though some people think it is a waste of money that could have been used elsewhere. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some would argue that it is necessary for the government to give financial aid to artists, while others believe that this money should be used on other projects. While funding artists helps in the cultural preservation of the country, I believe that the state should redistribute the funds to education. On the one hand, government spending on painters and sculptors is usually based on the belief that arts help with the cultural preservation of the country. However, the materials used in artistic expression are expensive. Supporting them ensures that the tradition, heritage and uniqueness of the community are kept alive. For instance, most provinces in the Philippines have festivals in order to celebrate their traditions and the local officials provide the funds. Without their help, these events will not happen. However, I believe that this is not the best way to spend the taxpayer's money. On the other hand, government officials should redistribute the funds to improve the educational system of the nation. Lack of education is a huge problem in society and it has led to other issues such as unemployment. Redistribution of wealth to improve the educational system can help decrease the educational gap in rich countries. For instance, they can put more budget into building science and computer laboratories in public schools. By doing this, students will be more globally competitive. Thus, I believe that it is more worthwhile for the state to spend money on improving the literacy rate of the citizens. In conclusion, although helping those who are working in the arts can help preserve the culture of the nation, there are more serious issues in society that need to be addressed. Thus, I believe that funding the education of people is the best way to utilize public funds.