In many countries, people do not recycle their rubbish as much as they could. Why do you think this is? What can be done to change this?

Nowadays, most of the countries around the world do not recycle their waste in an efficient manner and not up to their potential. I believe that people are not aware of the consequences of this and so, do not take measures to improve recycling of trash. Governments can take necessary measures to improve this situation and inculcate a habit of reuse and recycle of waste. Let us discuss on these measures and efforts people have to take to improve the current situation. Firstly, garbage management is an integral part of running a state or country. Governments must take this effort seriously to reduce the use of new raw materials and natural resources. Moreover, several layers of waste segregation should be done by countries to make the world a cleaner and safer place to live. People are unaware of the drawbacks of poor recycling of waste. In fact, this should be made aware of in all the households. For instance the garbage generated from common households are not segregated into degradable and non-degradable items by the common citizens. This in turn leads to mixing up of all the types of waste and becomes a nightmare to recycle the useful waste. Although, governments must suggest necessary remedies and facilitate the movement and Waste recycling. Few measures that they could introduce are stringent checking of waste quality, firm laws on waste collection and segregation, conduct awareness campaigns regarding trash management and their effects and so on. For example, they could introduce colour code for different types of waste like green for bio-degradable, blue for recyclable and yellow for electronic-trash. Additionally, they could subsidize the tax on goods sold by companies made out of recycled raw materials. In conclusion, garbage management is very critical for a country and to fully utilize and recycle the garbage produced, individuals and industries must feel responsible for the waste they produce. Even the governments should take stringent measures for the efficiency in rubbish recycling.