Children should be controlled or should they be allowed to take their own decision. Discuss both view and give your Opinion.

Children are the future of a society. Some people believe that, children should be kept under check and all their decisions should be made by their parents, but others argue, they should be allowed to make their own decision. In this essay, I will discuss both views and put forth my views supporting the latter argument. Firstly, those who believe that, children should be controlled think, they will not be able to make the right decisions because of their inexperience. In their view, children can be easily influenced by negative elements in our society and this will affect their decision making abilities. To avoid such instances, parents should make all the decisions for them, since they are more experienced and will know what is good for their children. For example, when it comes to higher studies, a child may act on his impulse and may take up courses which are not beneficial for his/her job prospects, but parents can choose a course which is better suited for his/her career. However, if parents make all the decisions for their children, they will never learn to be independent, and will be dependent on their parents for all their life decisions. Moreover, when a child makes a bad or wrong decision, it will give him or her the opportunity to learn from the mistakes and it will improve their emotional intelligence. The duty of the parents should be to guide their children in the right direction and support them in their failures. This support system will give a child all the confidence in the world. For example, Robert Downey Jr, when he was young made lot wrong choices, by the time he was 16 he was jailed twice and was a drug addict. But once he realized his mistakes he was able to learn from his bad decisions and turn around his life with the help of his mother. To conclude, I believe, parents should never force their decisions on their child and only guide them when it is required. Children should have their space to make decisions and it will help become an emotionally intelligent human being.