Healthcare should not be provided for free regardless of a person's income. The health of an individual is in their own hands. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Free healthcare system has now become an important topic of discussion worldwide. While some people think that such a facility should not be provided free of cost and people should solely be responsible for their own health issues, I opine that if not completely free, government should set reasonable charges for each kind of medical service and at the same time, citizens should also act responsibly towards maintaining their own well-being. On the one hand, those who favour paid healthcare services irrespective of one's earnings, believe that such a facility poses threat to the national funds collected from the tax payers that could be otherwise invested in other priority areas such as education and science researches. With the paid services, people might also start paying more attention towards their own health in the fear of spending hefty amounts on medications. Additionally, sometimes individuals fall prey to life-threating diseases because of their own unhealthy liftstyle lifestyles. To exemplify, a smoking addict, if gets diagnosed with lung cancer, should be the only one paying for his own actions instead of taking advantages of the free medical services. On the other hand, not everybody can afford whopping hospital charges for the unprecidented medical afflications applications affiliations they might suffer from due to various genetic and environmental factors. Therefore, in my view, medical facilities should be provided at reasonable prices which a common man can avail himself. To illustrate, Canada has a provision of free health care services for its citizens, and people pay a minimal monthly fee which helps the authorities to maintain the system. Furthermore, it is the duty of every individual to look after themselves and not just rely on the government faciities for their own benefits. To conclude, despite the advantages of making healthcare a paid service such as wiser investment of national funds and more awareness among people for being health conscious, I perceive that medical facilities should be availed at a minimal cost in order to help both government and people in supporting and using these services respectively.