Some people believe that all children should learn a foreign language from the time they start school, while others believe it is better to wait until a child is at secondary school. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Being able to learn a foreign tongue, whether at an early age when children begin school or before the secondary education has become a debatable issue nowadays. However, while some feel it would be beneficial if teenagers learn a foreign language before primary classes, I side with those who think children must learn another tongue at a very early age of starting school. On the one hand, it could be argued that pupils should learn another tongue except native one after passing primary level. On the account of the fact that at this stage of life they are often enough mature to understand whether learning a foreign language would be advantageous for them or not in the upcoming future. In addition, supporters of secondary school said that the youngsters are able to catch more easily and quickly, whatever they are taught as compared to a child. As a result, despite confronting problem they are able to translate anything from their own native tongue to another one, which enables them to stick with the language they are learning. However, I believe that there are more arguments to suggest that why children should learn another tongue besides native one at the moment they enter into school. As a matter of fact, at this stage children are more receptive to the newer ideas than adults or teenagers. They are gifted with such aptitude that they can obtain more than eight languages up to the age of thirteen. Furthermore, I would argue that children often do not feel self-conscious when trying to pronounce foreign tongue. Consequently, they do not feel reluctant in making mistakes. Obviously, which is the positive sign to move in continuity of any process. Besides this it helps those becoming multilingual children who are having bright life in the form of better job opportunities in near future. To sum up, although after primary school adults are mature to decide to go with a foreign tongue or not, not feeling afraid while pronouncing any foreign tongue to help foster a child’s interest. Therefore, on balance, I believe that learning a foreign language should be must for children when they enter into school.