Science has extended human life expectancy to one hundred years and even beyond. Some people view this in a positive light while others believe this creates some problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Science has explored in ways to prolong human life to a century and even more, and this situation has triggered some disagreement in a society that truly believe it will become a problem in the future. I personally disagree with the fact that human life expectancy has lengthened and this essay will explain my hesitation. First of all, having many generations living together may give a happiness to a certain extent. For example, some families are joyful that they could celebrate their great grandparent’s three digit birthday. Secondly, it is a blessing to have such a long life journey in this world. Not to mention the happiness of being able to play with their great grandchildren. Additionally, based on social experiment that was done in Singapore earlier this year, elderly is happiest when they are surrounded by toddlers and vice versa. On the flip hand, this stretch of age comes with a higher price tag if the person did not pursue a healthy lifestyle in the beginning stage of their life. Therefore, more assistance might be needed to take care of them. In reality, not many young families have the time and patience to look after for their elderly relatives. Thus, it is becoming more of an additional burden to them to carry. For this reason, the aging person may be falling into anxiety or depression. In conclusion, science has made it possible to boost for life expectancy and some community sees this as a chance to be grateful as more happy memories could be created. However, older age come with physical and mental health challenge. As a youngster myself, we tend to ignore our aged family member, especially when they need special care. It is becoming more of a bitter pill to swallow for both generations.