We live in a world of technology these days. While the internet brings with it clear advantages, the problems in terms of control and security of information outweighs the advantages. To what extend do you agree?

Currently we humans are living in a technological world. We have surrounded ourselves with the usage of technology in everything. I completely agree that the internet gives multiple advantages, like providing information at a click of a button, but it overrides the concerns of safety and protection of our data. On one hand, technology like the internet and social networking sites are benefitting every individual in this world. We are developing technology in all areas of business in order to ease our life. For example, before Facebook and WhatsApp, communicating with people in other parts of the world was very expensive. But with the internet and the development of such sites, it enabled us to be in touch with everyone and to make friends with people from other country. On the other hand, for using these sites they ask for several permissions. And they have complete control over what you are searching or posting. It is the biggest threat of using the internet, because once you post something on the internet, it stays with them even after you delete it from your account. Also, recently many people do online financial transactions and service providers have all of your information. Even though they claim that it is the secure web page, it isn’t and there are groups of people who are there to hack those data and try to misuse it. For example, in 2018, a group of hackers hack the data of the Oberoi group of hotels and they took all the information of their guests which includes, passport data and card details. In the end, the hotel has to pay a hefty amount to settle the claim from their guests. In conclusion, although the internet provides numerous benefits, but it is coming at a cost of providing your information to the service provider. To avoid any crisis, an individual should provide as little information as they could and they should do financial transactions only through the trusted sites. At the same time, companies should ask for the requisite information only.