Many students are taught to push themselves to try and be better than other students, rather than work together for everyone’s benefits. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Most of the pupils are educated that the positive aspects of the competition are much more than the working together. In my opinion, I consider that a key to become successful in life is to learn about working as a team member in lieu of becoming a competitor. Admittedly, there are several positives in getting knowledge about the spirit of the competition. To commence, it is the best way to develop the quality of hard working with individuals, to become better than others. For instance, if there is only one top position in the class, the students will push themselves hard to gain that prestigious position. Moreover, this might prove as a key to become a successful person in the career after the academic life. Therefore, it can be argued that in order to achieve success, it might be beneficial to have a deep understanding of how to become at the top in every field of life. Nonetheless, despite the advantages mentioned above, I believe that the upside of the learning to behave as a group member is definitely much more advantageous than the winning. One of the main reasons is that it instills the importance of being helpful to others. In fact, it is the most crucial ingredient required to develop a harmony in the society. Another obvious reason is the development of effective communication skills in people, which they only get after performing different tasks together. Thus, it is completely clear that understanding the positive aspects of performing as a group mate is essential for not only the individual but also for the whole community to behave well. In conclusion, it seems that there is a both upside and downside of this phenomenon, I argue that the advantages of giving preference to act in a group undoubtedly outweigh the benefits of looking for the competition.