The government should tax unhealthy food to encourage people to eat more healthily. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Opinions are divided over whether governments and regulators should impose higher taxes to keep the public away from unhealthy foods. I don't agree with the government interfering with people's choices as this would have a negative impact not only on society but on single families. First, generally speaking, taxes have always been a burden for most families, especially low-income groups in society. For example, many people may have an income that barely covers basic household expenses, but if they have two or more children, they may pay extra tax on cakes or snacks for their children. Just because these foods are sweet, they may fall into the unhealthy category, which is unfair. In addition, some families may pay more because of their family food traditions. This approach of treating food separately is wrong, destroys people's consumption structure, and is not conducive to social harmony. Therefore, there is no need to tax this. Beyond that, it's important to realize that there are many other, better ways to educate people about following a healthy diet. This can be seen from the fact that in order to keep adults and children away from junk food, people should always remind themselves and those around them to maintain a scientific and healthy eating attitude when shopping and eating. For example, both schools and parents should educate young people and help them develop healthy food preferences. It also sets an example for the younger generation. In this way, more and more families will gradually stay away from unhealthy foods. All in all, the authorities have many options to encourage the public rather than simply increasing taxes. To sum up, considering raising taxes to control the consumption of unhealthy food is not a wise approach, so I disagree. ​