Students today can easily access information online, so libraries are no longer necessary. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that libraries are unnecessary these days due to the fact that students have easy access to information via the internet. I disagree with this because libraries allow people to attain specialised types of information and are important for students to study in a quiet environment. Even though it is true that students nd it much easier to get specic academic information connected to their studies on the internet, I think that libraries are still essential in schools and universities as well as public library facilities. One reason for this is that some types of specialised information cannot be found on the internet. For instance, most well-known academic authors do not immediately publish their recent work online, instead, they publish books explaining their analyses and results. Therefore, these books are usually found in university or school libraries before they appear on the world wide web. Another reason why I believe that they are necessary is that students need places to concentrate and focus. Libraries are perfect environments for this as they are very quiet and everyone there is motivated to investigate and study. As a result, they create an academic environment that encourages deep concentration. To illustrate this, a poll carried out by Oxford University in 2015 stated that around 62% of students spent a large proportion of their time in the library researching and writing. They claimed that a silent academic atmosphere helped them to study and get better results in their exams. In conclusion, although the internet is of great benet to students, I believe that libraries are still necessary as they grant access to specialised sources of information and their facilities provide better conditions for studying.