Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some that it is more vital to support developing infrastructures instead of public transportation financially. In my opinion, I do not agree with this statement as I think that funding public transportation is significantly important. One of the potential reasons why I cannot entirely agree with the above opinion is that by developing public transport systems, it will increase the people's tendency to choose a publicly available mode of transportation over their vehicles. As a result of this practice, there will be fewer vehicles on the roads and can lead to a reduction in traffic congestion. Therefore, individuals can commute to their destinations on time without any rush-hour traffic problems. Moreover, less number of vehicles on the streets promotes an environmentally friendly environment because when the exhaust fumes that are emitted by vehicles are minimized, the carbon footprint will be eventually dropped. Another point to consider is that public transportation is an affordable medium of transportation. In other words, many commuters prefer to travel by bus or train due to lower ticket prices. Therefore, it is crucial to make public transport more comfortable and reliable to facilitate many passengers. Consequently, people would be less inclined to purchase vehicles for their personal use, and this can minimize the chances of them incur debts. For example, it is widely seen that these days, the majority of individuals are trying to keep up with the Joneses by purchasing luxury vehicles, which they can hardly afford. In conclusion, I believe that it is more beneficial to subsidize in the improvements of public transportation than road infrastructure.