Most people think that the truth should be objective rather than Subjective when it comes to news. Do you think all news is true? What is the function of a newspaper?

News is scrutinized by almost every media literate person nowadays, and they think that objectivity, not subjectivity, is its main characteristic. I believe not all news reports are true, as there are fabrications, propaganda, and financial benefits associated with the responsibility of delivering them. The function of A newspaper is to provide accurate information to the public. While there are some news stories that are based on correct and true events and incidents, most of them are inaccurate. This is because news media fabricates real happenings to gain some political or financial benefits and to appease powerful authorities or its audience. For instance, latest war journalism research shows that a majority of news coverage of the last decade’s wars was lopsided and tended to frame the aggressors as freedom fighters, owing to the involvement of several wealthy and powerful nations. Therefore, most of the time media disseminates fabricated news. However, the press is responsible for delivering accurate data to its audience and informing and educating them. Moreover, it is an effective tool for shaping the opinion of the public and influencing the decisions of the policy makers. To illustrate, a large number of journalism scholars have identified only one purpose of newspapers: making individuals better informed. Thus, the only aim that the news media has, is the dissemination of authentic information based on real events. In conclusion, newspapers are facing scrutiny from people, who criticize them for being subjective instead of being objective. Given that only a small minority of news is true, the press has to embrace its function of being socially responsible and providing correct information to the public.