Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to read and write is more important today than in the past.

Living in such an ever-changing society, the attitude toward literacy, which defined as the ability to read and write is also changing. Specifically, some experts assert that such capacity is much more important than the past. As far as I concerned, I agree that literacy capability is the indispensable characteristics that the public should equip with. This essay will elaborate the reasons in detail. First of all, it is the way that we connect to others and it is also the essential foundation of education. One can barely survive in the fast-pacing world without literacy power. To give an illustration of lacking this vital competence, it definitely would make people cannot catch up with the latest information so that they cannot help but fall behind others in such a competitive world. In addition, as the saying goes:” learning is a lifelong virtue.” Only by this ability can we absorb the innovative knowledge independently without relying on others. The second point to make is related to the technology development, especially the Internet which dwindling of boundaries of knowledge. That is to say, people are having an easier access to explosive information. It is not only about the reading and writing, but also about comprehension and interpretation. It is inevitable that the cultivation of literacy is the fundamental for the public. For example, everyone is bombarded with all sorts of information from anywhere, such as Facebook, Instagram, and TV. However, to what extent we can trust the sources mentioned above? If someone cannot separate fact from fiction, he/she is possible to be controlled by the fake news or misinformation without consciousness. To sum up, it appears inevitable that the overall trend toward playing emphasis on literacy. I support that literal capability is so crucial that if everyone could equip with this skill that would lead them a better way to connect with the world.