Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is by reducing the maximum limits on vehicles, others think there are other better ways. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

People's opinions differ about the most effective way of curbing road accidents. While some opine that reduction of the optimum speed limit is the way forward, others think there are more effective methods to address the situation. In my opinion, I succumb to the fact that there are various ways of achieving safety on the highway. On the one hand, the reduced maximum speed limit is considered the most appropriate way of minimising road mishaps. That is to say, when there is a barrier to speed, drivers would not have a choice rather than to obey and this would in turn reduce the frequency at which they run into other vehicles, pedestrians or stationary objects. Invariably making the roads safer to tread. On the other hand, others believe there are more preferable ways and I agree with this. Firstly, the authorities should ensure that all drivers are lawfully licensed and offenders should be prosecuted appropriately. Since some accidents are due to amateur drivers plying the highways. Secondly, there should be a measure in place in monitoring the state of the vehicles and unqualified ones be withdrawn from the roads. This would not only minimize accidents, but all reduce health hazards due to the emissions from them. Lastly, long and heavy-duty vehicles should be restricted during peak periods. For instance, Lagos State has recorded a 78% reduction in road accidents since this law was enacted. Moreover, these vehicles have been known to be the cause of over 60% of these accidents. In conclusion, despite the various views of people about the best way to achieve safety on the roads, I believe that ensuring licensing of drivers, vehicle are in good conditions and restricting the movement of long vehicles will.