Parents are delaying childbirth nowadays than in the older days. Why is this? Do the advantages of late childbirth outweigh the disadvantages?

It has been observed lately that more couples have shifted to planning to have children in their later age than the traditional practice of having them immediately after marriage. This essay will discuss the possible reasons for this shift and elucidate why I believe that the merits of delaying childbirth outweigh the demerits. One of the most significant reasons for a change in this pattern of planning childbirth is that parents want to establish a psychological consent that they are eligible to handle the responsibility of a child. This is because parents ' healthy relationship plays a crucial role in bringing up a child. For instance, if the mother and father are struggling to build a good relationship between them, they will find it hard to handle a fresh life. Besides this, unlike in the past where education was not so costly, accumulating enough finances in pursuit of providing their child a high-quality education has also led to this change. A child's future majorly depends on his education, therefore parents look forward to the best institutions that charge them highly. All in all, switching to delayed child planning is beneficial for both, the child's future and also for the parents where they get enough time to develop that bond within them. The aforementioned practice of contemporary couples does present some negatives. To begin with, the female might encounter labor problems and this might also lead to miscarriage if pregnancy is delayed. To illustrate, research shows that 80 percent of women who planned a child after the age of 26 had a complicated labor period and 25 percent of them ended up in a miscarriage. Another demerit is the age gap between parents and children. As life expectancy is shrinking by the passage of time, it would be difficult for the parents to witness their grandchildren. In conclusion, every era has its own challenges, and in order to surmount those challenges, we develop certain behavior. Similarly, the action of planning childbirth at a later age is justifiable looking at the requirement of the right mindset and being prepared with adequate finances for a competitive life we live today. finances for a competetive life we live today.