Eating too much sugar is harmful for our health. Some people think that it is government responsibility to limit people’s sugar consumption, while others think that it is an individual’s responsibility to limit the amount of sugar they eat. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is irrefutable that health is the most important jewel one can possess. There are some people who believe that it is the government's responsibility to control sugar intake of their citizens, while others argue that it is one's own responsibility. I tend to agree with the latter argument and in this essay I will support my opinion with examples. First and foremost, every individual has the right to choose what they should eat. There are people who give great importance to their food intake and ignore eating sugar, while others are much more obsessed with sweet. For instance, it has been proved that those who work out regularly are more conscious to their health and eat less sugary food. In contrast, the phenomenon is exactly opposite for less active people. It is because they don't give much importance to health until it is alarming. As a result, they need to stop sugar intake, as per their doctor's recommendation otherwise things could get worst. Therefore, one should always take responsibility and control his consumption of sugar for his own good. On the other hand, there are ways that government can help their citizens in a passive way. There are a lot of drinks that has a huge amount of sugar in it. For example, most of the energy drinks have high sugar content, which gives more sugar than energy to an individual. The government should take action against them as false advertising and should ask them to revise their sugar percentage in energy drinks. Also, the government should run a campaign to enlighten and motivate everyone about the harmful effect of consuming too much sugar. As a result, It would help in making a world a healthier place. In conclusion, whereas sugar is a tempting substance and is required for taste in a lot of dishes. In my view, as an individual, we should step up and control our eating habits which will help us in staying healthy.