Some people believe that the government should take care of old people and provide financial support after they retire. Others say individuals should save during their working years to fund their own retirement. What is your opinion?

People have different opinions when it comes to providing financial support and attention to elderly people after retirement. While some people believe governments are accountable for assisting these individuals, others argue that individuals should plan their retirement ahead of time. However, in my opinion, governments could provide better support to the senior citizens of their country. In the past, most families supported their parents and grandparents during their old age, which is a fact that is changing in today's world. Now, more and more people try to avoid giving any support to their elders and this trend has been growing day by day. In this case, governments should make some effort to subsidize the cost of living for these old aged people, who could not earn money because of their higher age; furthermore, housing for the aged can be built at the cost of tax money, which could at least provide a comfortable shelter to these people. Consequently, senior citizens will not suffer due to poverty or homelessness. Undoubtedly, it is a good idea that people should also plan their retirement ahead of time to avoid suffering at a later age. However, it would be extremely difficult for people who earn a lesser income every month to save some money for their future. Even though a large sum of money could be saved for this purpose, no amount of money could assure a sustainable life. Governments could play an important role here to implement some saving systems which could make life easier for elderly people. Consequently, this will benefit senior citizens to live a happy life.