In many countries people have to pay for medical care, but some think that it should be a free service provided by the government. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Medical care is one of the most crucial needs for every citizen. As medical treatment is not free in many countries, some argue that the government should provide this service free of cost. I firmly believe that people should receive free treatment because their well-being is the duty of the state. First of all, in many countries, some people are below the poverty line. As medical care is a basic need and not everyone can afford it, the government should pay for their expenses. For example, the cost of medicines is high in most countries and a person who earns minimum wage cannot afford to buy necessary medications. Therefore, this life-saving service should be free for citizens, especially for the poor. Moreover, people pay a huge amount of taxes that are collected by the government. The collected taxes are supposed to be spent on improving the lives of citizens, and bearing their hospital expenses should be the top priority. For instance, if a citizen is paying 30% of their income to the government, it is their right to ask for free services such as medications. So, it is the responsibility of the state to fulfil the necessities of its people including health care. In conclusion, even though the government needs expenses in many sectors to run a country, free health care for people should be given the most attention. As many people cannot afford costly medicines and the state collects a lot of money through taxes, it should provide free medical care so that people can easily afford a healthy life.