Computers are being used more and more in education. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion.

It is argued that technology is playing an every increasing role in schools and universities. This essay will discuss student freedom as one of the main advantages and secondly, outline decreasing levels of face to face contact as one of the main disadvantages. To begin with, one of the principle advantages of an increase in the use of electronic devices in learning is the autonomy it provides students. Additionally, students have the freedom to focus on whatever topic or subject they want and study it in depth through the internet. For instance, the number of online university courses available to students, covering a myriad of subjects, that up until recently were unavailable to most learners. As a result, in more people are studying third level degrees than ever before, at a pace and schedule that suits them. On the contrary, the increasing use of technology in schools is the decrease in interaction between students. Students spend more time looking at computer screens by themselves than interacting with each other. For example, the recent explosion in smartphone use has been at the expense of genuine human interaction. As a result of which soft skills, such as verbal communication and empathy, being affected. In conclusion, the benefits technology brings in education, such as student autonomy, must be weighed against the drawbacks, such as negative effects on human interaction. Overall, the educational benefits outweigh the disadvantages because human beings will always want human contact and most people will not solely use IT in education.