The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Nuclear technology facilitates in providing cheap and clean energy. There is also a threat because of nuclear weapons. I strongly believe that the benefits clearly outweigh the disadvantages. I shall discuss my arguments in detail in this essay. The other major contributor of energy generation, apart from the nuclear energy, is the energy produced with water in dams. However, producing energy in dams is cumbersome and completely dependent on precipitation in mountainous areas. Also, the energy produced in dams is not sufficient enough to cater the needs of the energy requirements in today's world. Energy generated by nuclear technology, on the other hand, is much more clean and cheap. On the contrary, it also poses threat in the form of nuclear weapons. Another viewpoint is that the nuclear weapons have not been used after the world war 2. Clearly, it has been a deterrent to the countries and world peace is maintained. Countries could also restrict the use of nuclear weapons by implementing international laws as a solution to this problem. Additionally, other forms of energies like wind, coal and oil are either obsolete or insufficient. Some other new forms of energy generation are at the initial stage of research and application. Nuclear technology is the only easiest and cleanest way to generate energy at the moment. To conclude, it can be said that as of now, the nuclear technology is the only and best way to generate energy. There are some threats due to nuclear weapons which cannot be overlooked. However, the benefits of nuclear technology are much more that the disadvantages.