It is difficult for people living in cities today get enough physical exercise. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve the problem

The hectic pace of life of many city residents today leaves little time to take regular exercise. When they arrive home exhausted, they lack the energy to practice sports, go to a gym or simply to go for a walk. While this situation is obviously detrimental to people’s health, there are effective solutions which could alleviate the problem. Contemporary life in a city is not easy, and incorporating a fitness regime as part of a healthy lifestyle is rarely high on the agenda of busy urban residents. One major factor is a heavy workload, as most industrial and office jobs are physically and mentally demanding. This problem is compounded by the time that it takes to commute to and from work, often on overcrowded public transport, which grinds to a halt at peak times. As a result, people arrive home tired, they shut the front door and soon lapse into a sedentary lifestyle of watching TV. Even children may have to face long journeys to school, getting up early and coming back exhausted late in the evening. Companies and governments could both play a part in remedying this situation. Businesses could offer job-sharing to their employees, or flexible working hours so that rush hour traffic jams could be avoided.People would then have extra time and energy to do more exercise. National and local authorities should allocate resources to health awareness campaigns, in order to motivate city residents to keep fit. At the same time, funding could be provided for community sports centres in each city neighbourhood and, as in New York for example, free fitness classes in local parks. In conclusion, if city residents could spend less time on working and travelling, they could be motivated to take more exercise by accessing improved fitness amenities.