Some people think it is more important to spend time in developing a successful career while others think it is more important to spend time with friends and family. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

While building up a worthy professional life is of paramount importance to some people, the other section is totally focused on investing their invaluable time for their family and friends. I strongly believe that, though, everyone must have some family time, it is more important to devote one’s precious time on creating a successful professional life. Firstly, those who argue that, building a valuable career is absolutely crucial, they might get this idea triggered, because of a multitude of reasons, such as a craving for a better quality of life, and expecting a solid financial security for the family. Moreover, to achieve this difficult target, people sometimes must sacrifice their personal interests or family relations. In addition, the aspirants should carefully execute their plans to learn the new skills and build their professional network of people. For example, as per the recent survey by The Times of India, nearly 62% of the higher secondary students across India, are ready to join their choice of college even it is located far from their family. This means, career prospects taking precedence over the family. On the other side, some people believe that spending time with the well-wishers and the family members should not be discounted at any cost. As per the famous saying, “Family is a strength, but not a weakness”, one’s individual growth will be greatly impacted by one’s emotional stability. To develop this strength, family and friends helps to a great extent. To exemplify this, a recent research conducted by Ohio State University, up to 78% of the people, who are spending at least 16 hours per week with family and friends, have responded with positive and compassionate responses to a questionnaire, when compared with their counterparts. Also, the experienced advices from the family and friends can sometimes help an individual, both professionally and personally. In conclusion, though hanging out with the family and friends helps people emotionally and psychologically, the best way to burn the clock is to invest in career growth due to the results they yield in the future. Hence, I would recommend, every person should consciously distribute their leisure time between learning new skills for the future, and to make valuable personal moments of life with our fellow beings.