Some people think it's better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it's good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

While it is some people's view that friends should be individuals who share similar opinions, others posit that friendship is better with individuals who disagree with one another sometimes. In my opinion, I think that although being closer to people with like views brings about less disagreement, it is better to have friendships where disputes sometimes occur because this makes the relationship stronger as the parties involved have the opportunity of learning more about themselves. On the one hand, some people insist that relationships thrive when persons in them share the same views because it brings about a no conflict situation. In other words, disagreement is not a trait for a healthy relationship and thus, similarity in ideologies is key when choosing a close friend. They posit that one has too short a life for unnecessary fights and arguments. For example, in marriages, couples who share the same religion and thoughts, tend to have a happier home than the ones who do not. On the other hand, another group of persons opine that it is healthier to have friends who clash on issues because it creates an avenue for partners to learn about themselves thereby making their relationships stronger, and I agree. The reason for this is that a good relationship would never exist without conflict. In fact, it is through arguments that people learn and have a true understanding of their friends. To illustrate, I read an article published in March, 2011 by the Punch Newspaper on friendship. In the article, it was concluded that a relationship without disputes is fake. Thus, it is through clashes that friends are able to express their emotions and true nature. In conclusion, whereas the opinion of people may vary as to whether to have friends who share similar values or the ones that disagree, I consider that the latter view is better since it breeds a stronger and long lasting relationship.