Some people say now there is less communication between the family members than in the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s fast paced world, there is an evident spike in the communication gap between the members of the family, when compared to the last few decades. I would agree with this view, with an exception that, there are still some sections of the society, which are following some definitive guidelines to keep their family relations healthy. Firstly, the section of the people who believe that transparency in the family is declining, might argue that this situation is due to the daily work schedules of the modern families. These families, which are majorly the nuclear families, having parents as the working class and their children are in modern education, experiencing so much of daily stress. For example, as per the survey by The Times of India, 3 out of 5 families in today’s metropolitan cities are nuclear families, and both the partners are doing day jobs. As a result, the family members will not get any personal time to share their feelings, which increases the gap between the partners. Additionally, another key factor which leads to family disintegration, is the intrusion of mobile technology, and social media in their personal life. In fact, the present day, every person owns a mobile with a truck load of social media apps, like Facebook. To exemplify this, the recent article published by “The Business Insider” clearly shown the multifold increase in the smartphone usage by young kids in the family, especially on mobile gaming. In contrast, if people spend their precious time for having a meaningful conversation, it can lead to a treasured family experience. In conclusion, although there are some groups focusing on the intra-family communications, the majority of the world is facing family mistrusts and communication pitfalls, due to the technological advancements, and lifestyle impediments. So, I opine that, in this twenty first century there is an evident proof of mis-communication in the family members and they have to be addressed at various levels. Hence, I would recommend that, every family must devote a few hours of their personal time to eat, chat and laugh together.