Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Moving to a new country can be quite challenging sometimes. Somehow, as the time goes by, most people will easily overcome the difficulties of learning foreign languages. I shall argue that those languages difficulties wouldn’t lead to some serious issues due to its advantages to develop each individual. Technology has made the practical issues more effectively and efficiently over the last several decades. In other words, the existence of technology nowadays solves many problems effortlessly. They have made it much easier to get information within a second. Take online translator for example, people who might not be able to speak and understand native language found this very convenient. Therefore, technology helps to mitigate this issue while it makes conversation enjoyable and prevent misunderstanding. Most of the 70% of the world population has at least a working knowledge of English. But in fact, English is not spoken widely in some country such as Russia, Japan or China. However, learning foreign language also means having the ability to gain new skills and can be beneficial. In China, for example, when we go to the market, it’s much easier to bargain using Chinese rather than speaking the international language such as English. Therefore, learning foreign language in related country is actually easier. Beside that, if we hear a new language regularly, our brain will automatically pick it up. Every country or several specific places have it's own culture. People’s ability to learn new languages also enhance their knowledge, to learn new cultures because somehow language is complexly intertwined with culture. For instance, in some countries, especially in Indonesia, adolescent have to speak politely using the proper words to the elders. Since childhood, we have been taught by our parents and teacher to show respect. Through language, this behaviour makes people or immigrant able to integrate well. To conclude, many people believe that they can’t face the language barrier; however, in my opinion, not mastering the native language won’t be a big deal and haven’t provoked any serious social issues because I believe with the help of technology it’s making our lives easier, and most people can adapt to the new environment.