Some people claim that public museums and art galleries are no longer needed because people can see historical objects and works of art using a computer. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the invention of the internet, people have the luxury of accessing information freely. As a result of this many people argue, the museums and art exhibitions do not have value compared to the past, since; people can get all the details about the historical art quite quickly and conveniently through the internet. I think even though the internet provides more information, the importance of museums and art galleries are critical for a country. Undoubtedly, there are many reasons for people to use the internet as a source of knowledge for historical objects and masterpieces. More importantly, the web, allows access to an enormous amount of data on art objects with the click of a button. The sites have many detailed, clear pictures of the artefacts from different angles and articles which describe the history, artist information and even the materials used. Moreover, online websites can access throughout the day, unlike the art galleries. Nevertheless, real museums and art galleries play a vital role and are part of society. One cannot experience by watching pictures and gain knowledge unless otherwise, they see it for real, and the online material never will express the value of historical artefacts. Besides, the staff works in museums are qualified, and they provide accurate and verified information, hence; more reliable. Furthermore, the museums attract tourists, allowing them to sense the culture back in ancient time. Consequently, they contribute to a significant portion of government revenue. The experience that will gain by visiting an ancient site, such as Sigiriya never will be gained by visiting a website. In conclusion, I firmly believe that even though the websites provide much information; however, by visiting such art galleries and museums, people can experience the cultural values and will remember it forever.