Over the past fifty years, international sports events such as Olympic games and world cup competition have played an increasing important role in our society. However, many people think such events are an enormous waste of money, time and effort. Do you agree?

Some people believe that it is irrelevant to organise global events such as the Olympics and they also, say that it is not viable. I completely disagree with this argument, as I believe that hosting such events on a global scale will provide a fair share and additionally, it can aid in sustaining the world peace. Everyone should be given equal rights to participate, so they too can shine among powerful nations. In other words, sports events such as Olympics, world cups can give all the nations around the world an opportunity to compete and as a result, this can open doors for them to get the recognition they deserve. For example; Usain bolt otherwise known as the fastest man on earth was a Jamaican born, hence now the whole world regards Jamaica as a country which produces some of the world ’s best and fastest athletes. If done with good intentions larger gatherings can always create peace between nations. To put differently, we have all seen the horrors of wars between nations and detrimental repercussions that comes along with them, therefore an event such as the Olympics can create unity between countries resulting in peace. For example; we observed and felt that the diplomatic ties between the USA and Russia is not firm, however last Olympics held in Russia proved us otherwise and showed us that participants between these two countries coming together to win a peaceful war of gold medals. In conclusion, I believe that hosting events on a global level must be continued, as this would help countries to build better diplomatic relationships. Furthermore, it will also give less powerful nations the opportunity to participate and the recognition.