People have little understanding of the importance of the natural world. What are the reasons and how can people learn more about the natural world?

Even though as a part of nature, each human being has a great responsibility to understand and protect the environment in which the humankind are living, the important role of natural world in our daily life has been neglected by people around the globe in the last few decades. This dereliction of duty has had several impacts not only on the fate of the biodiversity of the planet, but also on the living conditions of every human on earth. In this essay, I will discuss the main reasons that cause humans’ ignorance towards environmental matters and offer some measures to tackle this problem. The root of today’s ignorant attitude towards the natural world lies within the modern society itself. Among many possible reasons that give rise to the environmental unawareness, the lack of ecological education in academic systems is considered to be the main culprit. While biology is one of the main subjects in schools which teaches about the nature, its teaching contents rarely dig deeper into specific topics like ecology, zoology, botany or environmental protection at the level beyond the basic. Recent research has shown that 40% of students around the world have never heard of or been taught in schools about our current ecosystems’ issues such as climate change or endangered species. Another development of human society that cause the lack of awareness about the nature is the technological advancement. New technologies with great potential to replace the nature ’s function on the planet such as artificial trees or robotic animals have caused people to believe that humans are not part of the natural world and therefore do not need to care for the Mother Earth herself. In order to deal with the aforementioned matters, our education system should include nature awareness in school curriculum as the main subject with detailed knowledge about the natural world and organize more wildlife picnics to teach students to be environmentally responsible. Furthermore, the government should promote the importance of the natural world by stepping up their environmental awareness programs in the influential social domains such as the entertainment industry. For example, the movie industry should encourage filmmakers to deliver a powerful message about the environment on screen more frequently to inspire people to seek knowledge about this kind of topic. Once the modern citizens are motivated to improve their understanding of the natural world, the environmental unawareness will be decreased. In conclusion, it must be said the lack of understanding around environmental matters are a contentious issue with no easy solutions. However, in my mind, it is vital to include all environmental topics as important parts of school curriculums to cultivate nature awareness for people from a young age. It is not unrealistic to expect that concentrating on the environmental education of young students will help raise awareness of the natural world in the future.