Illiteracy has traditionally been viewed as largely a third world problem. However, it is becoming apparent that in countries such as USA and Australia illiteracy is on the increase. Discuss some possible causes and effects this phenomenon has on the society.

Literacy rates are becoming lower and lower as the years pass. It is said that illiteracy rates are very high in underprivileged nations from the conventional view. In spite of this, it has become quite evident that literacy rates are on the decline in some countries. In my opinion, it has a negative bearing on the society and will now be discussed. The technology has many negative effects in terms of education. To illustrate, having got used to writing letters in assistance of mobile phone functions, students are failing to use their writing skills. One example of those functions could be automatic correction, which is favoured by a myriad of people as, provided that there are any mistakes, they are rectified in a question of seconds. So, this is resulting in laziness among people to review whether they wrote a word correctly or not and engendering a plunge in their writing abilities. Furthermore, in many industrialised nations, breadwinner parents are rife and are the next culprit of high illiteracy rates. When both parents are occupied with their jobs, it is proven to be a negative trend as their children are left out of regulation and simply doing what they want such as playing, surfing the Internet in vain, dropping out of school or even committing crimes. Ergo, the technology and diminished responsibility of taking control of children are leading to low literacy rates. Low literacy rates have an immense impact on societies. For instance, issues such as poverty has arisen from high illiteracy rates. As mentioned above, children left out of attention and quitted school contribute to illiteracy rates. If they do not attend school, however, will leave as blue collar workers on the horizon. What is more, when people are not educated enough to get better paid jobs, it is inevitable that they will seek for easy ways of earning such as committing a crime or even being entailed in mobs. It makes it clear that such ways of earning money put the lives of society members in jeopardy due to the calamities entailed in the criminal act. So, poverty results from high illiteracy rates, which have deleterious effects on the members of the society. In conclusion, the latest technology and non-existence of children's control result in low literacy rates and bear a tremendous impact on the society. It is recommended that if illiteracy of people is thwarted when it was in the buds, then no problems will be caused in the society.